Contact ETMC | For Health Professionals | About ETMC

Crockett Surgeon Re-Elected Speaker of TOMA House of Delegates

AUSTIN – Crockett general surgeon Ray L. Morrison, D.O., FACOS, has been re-elected Speaker of the House of Delegates of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association (TOMA). He Ray Morrison Photoformally assumed the position during the Joint Annual Convention & Scientific Seminar of TOMA and the Texas Society of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians, held June 15-19 in Dallas.

The House of Delegates is TOMA’s legislative policy-making body that determines its advocacy for the betterment of quality healthcare, access to medical care, and the safety of the public seeking osteopathic medical services across the state.

A board certified general surgeon, Dr. Morrison is a partner with Houston County Surgical Associates. He is on staff at East Texas Medical Center Crockett, where he has recently been elected chief of staff. He also serves as vice chair of its Trauma/ER Committee, and is on the consulting staff at ETMC Trinity. In addition, Dr. Morrison is an assistant professor of surgery in the department of rural and family practice, rural surgery division, at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (TCOM), in Fort Worth, where he earned his Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.) degree in 1986. He is a past president of the TCOM Alumni Association.

His commitment to students and rural practice, along with Crockett general surgeon J. Patrick Walker, M.D., resulted in the establishment of the Rural Physician Education Center in Crockett, a housing and educational facility for students and residents who come for training and rotations. The facility is expected to result in an increase of practicing physicians in smaller communities. The land and funds were contributed by the Houston County Hospital District.

Dr. Morrison is a member of multiple TOMA committees and is a past president and active member of his divisional society, TOMA District 3. He also holds the prominent position of vice speaker of the House of Delegates for the American Osteopathic Association; is a Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons, chair of the General Surgery Discipline, and serves on its Board of Governors; and is a member of the Texas Disaster Medical Assistance Team. Locally, he is a director of the Houston County Hospital Board and an appointed member of the Local Emergency Planning Commission.

D.O.s (Osteopathic Physicians) are fully licensed physicians who can practice every aspect of medical care, including patient care, prescribe medication, perform surgery and practice in any medical specialty area. They are trained in the philosophy of medical care that considers the health of the whole person and focus on preventive healthcare, which includes proper nutrition, physical fitness and other lifestyle factors. They complete four years of medical education followed by three-year internship and residency programs. The first D.O.s in Texas opened practices in Waco and Sherman in 1897 and 1898. Today, D.O.s practice in 153 Texas counties, five in which they are the only physicians.


The Texas Osteopathic Medical Association (TOMA) has represented osteopathic physicians in Texas since its founding in 1900. It currently represents about 3,000 members, including over 700 osteopathic medical students at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine in Fort Worth and osteopathic medical schools across the country. It advocates for access to quality and safe care for patients in Texas. TOMA is headquartered in the historic Bartholomew-Robinson building located at 1415 Lavaca St. in Austin, TX. Robert J. “Sam” Tessen is the Executive Director. For further information about TOMA or the osteopathic profession, visit <>.